Rick and Sasha

(AUTHOR’S NOTE : CLICK HERE FOR THE NEXT STORY IN THIS ARC.)

I saw her standing outside the pub. Waiting, for me. “Hey!” I waved. “I got your text!” She smiled, and without warning, punched me in the gut. “Hey! What was that for?” “For blowing me off for a month! Not picking up the phone!” “I was–” “Yeah busy, I know. Let’s just go in.”

“And then, as I’m pointing my gun at him, guess what?” I laughed. “What?” she asked curiously “He pisses his pants! This 7 feet giant, and he just!” we were both laughing before I could finish. We were sitting at the bar, a bottle of beer between us. “So that’s what you’ve been up to back in Delhi?” asked, taking a swig. “Well yeah. I was bored of this place so I figured I’d go and see how it’s like up there.” “Sounds like you had a colorful life” “Well, police detective, you get it. Crime is same, Delhi or Mumbai, India or UK, it’s all the same.” I motioned the bartender to bring another bottle.

“Anyways what’s new with you?” I asked, taking a swig. She shrugged. “Same old, hospital. I don’t even know night from day. In fact you’re real lucky you’re seeing me outside the hospital” I patted her head. “That bad huh?” “It’s okay. Not too bad. But listen that’s not the reason I came to see you. “Oh you need a reason to see me?” “Shut up! No I’m serious. Listen, how’s Sasha?” I felt a chill go through me. I played it off casually. “Nothing, Sasha is great, I saw her some time back.” I shrugged. “And what about the engagement? Is it still on?” “Well she told me she’ll think about it while I was away so” “She is cheating on you” she said simply. “I know it’s not my place to tell you this, and I might have ruined you guys but–” I held up a hand to silence her. “Yes I know. I’m a goddamn detective, of course I’d know” “How?” “I when I met her. I could see it in her eyes. The way she behaved, the way she talked. Everything. It was clear as” I held up a glass of water, motioning to it.

“Look, Rick, I don’t know what to do to make you–” “Stop. I don’t need anything from you. From anyone.” I finished my drink. “If that’s the reason you wanted to meet me, I’m leaving.” I slammed a 500 Rs note on the table. ” Keep the change. I don’t need anyone worrying about me. I’m fine” I got up and left.

“Rick wait!!” I heard Katy’s voice. “Look Katy, I really don’t wanna hear anything you say!” I turned back. “Okay good I’m not saying anything. Remember the Fountain Park that we used to hang out back in college? It’s not far. What do you say? For old times sake?” she looked at me with her best puppy dog eyes. “No no no not gonna work on me” “Please!” She continued to look. “Goddamn it fine!”

“I used to bring Ark here, you know. After you left. Right after college. We used to hang out. But I always missed you more than him.” I didn’t reply. “Are you still mad at me? Come on, I’m just looking out for you. That’s what friends do you know!” She grabbed my hands, pulling me towards the park.

“Well, when she didn’t look me in the eye, I knew something was wrong. And I did some digging, you know, standard police stuff, ask around friends, and well, I had enough evidence” We were sitting on a bench overlooking the fountain. The gentle spray of the water wafted towards us in the warm summer night. “Pity you can’t arrest her” she laughed. “Actually I can. For possession of illegal substance.” “No way!” “Hey I’m a good detective. Told you.” She looked at me surprised. “Why don’t you?” I signed. “Because it’s not right. Revenge isn’t my way.” “Well, it is mine.” she said angrily. “I might just drop a citizen hint” “You know that’s bogus. PR stuff” “Oh really? That’s a downer” “Yeah, well I’ve learnt if there is anything that sounds too good, it’s probably fake.”

“Hey, by the way, what happened with Ark?” I suddenly remembered. Katy frowned “Ark? Oh he is some hot-shot columnist for a national newspaper. He married six years ago. To Aurelia” My eyes widened with disbelief. “What? No, so he finally found love after you broke off?” I laughed. ” I met his family last Summer. It was his daughter Ariana’s birthday. He never looked so happy.”

“I’m sorry I shouted at you earlier.” We were walking in the park. It was well lit in the night, mostly because it was a popular spot in the summer. I could see kids playing, their parents mostly looking at their phones. Few were actually playing with the kids. ” Look at them” Katy pointed to a group of college going kids. “They look like us back then” she laughed. “Hey look!” I pointed. “That guy even has a guitar!” We stood there, listening as the breeze gently carried the music to us. “Sit” Kat pulled me down. “But the grass” “Aww is Rick afraid of the dirt?” “But my jeans!” “Oh Mr. Tough Guy Detective is scared of the dirt?” She teased. She was already on the ground, tugging my hands, looking expectantly. “Fine!” I accepted and sat down. “So what were you apologising for?” she said, lying on the grass. “You aren’t worried about your cloths getting dirty?” “Rick, this is the first time I’m seeing the outside world. You can’t stop me from soaking it all in.” “Fine your wish.” She turned on her belly, looking up at me, expectantly. “Okay. I’m sorry for yelling earlier.” She smiled. “Go on” “Well ever since the whole incident, I did cry and scream and got frustrated a lot. I even beat up a criminal before brining him in” Her eyes widened. “He was a bad crook. Serial molester. Caught him harassing this group of college kids late in the night.” “Well fine but still, you can’t just- I mean that’s against the law!” “I know. I wasn’t in control. I just lost it” “How is he now?” ” I wrote it off as beaten up by bystanders. Nothing much.”

“Rick, are you okay? Seriously, I never expected police brutality from you!” I looked over to her, eyes wide in concern. “Trust me, I’m fine now. ” “If you need a psych evaluation, I’ll talk to the therapist at my-” “KATY!” I shouted, and immediately regretted. I could see myself getting angry and shouting but I couldn’t stop myself. I saw her shrink back in fear. ” I’m sorry Kate! Shit, I’m sorry, I really didn’t mean to.” I looked down. My eyes stung. When did I become like this? I looked away, grabbing a fistful, and tearing the grass around me. Everything faded around me. All I could think was grab, pull, and tear.

“You done?” I heard Katy’s voice. My blurred eyes focused on her, sitting up now. “Come here” She reached out and wrapped her arms around me. I started crying in her arms. “I think it’s a good idea to schedule an evaluation” I mumbled. “Don’t worry Ricky, we’ll get you through this. Just don’t shut us out okay? We are your friends. I’m here to help you. Everyone is. Just let me help you.” I nodded through my tears. ” I told her I’ll wait for her. That one day she’ll wake up and realise what a mistake she is made.” I said, wiping my tears, after I pulled away from her hug. She nodded. “And now?” “I just buried her memory deep inside. I just don’t remember her anymore. I buried her and I don’t wanna see her anymore!” Kate took my hands. “It’s okay Rick. It’s gonna be okay.”

“So, I’ll call you once I fix an appointment okay?” I nodded. We were walking out the park. It was already night time by now. “Thank you Kate. For everything.” “Hush! It’s nothing.” “No I mean it. Sasha really broke me, and it was you guys and your constant calls and visits and everything you did, even if I wasn’t the best recipient.” “It’s okay Rick. Take care of yourself!” We were at the sidewalk. “How are you getting home?” I asked, Kate looked around, then smiled. “My ride” she said, pointing to a car pulling up. “Hey Rick!” I heard Jasmine shout from inside the car. I turned to Katy. “So you two living together now?” Katy beamed. “Just wait!” She turned tp Jasmine. “Hey Jazz, show Rick the surprise!” Jazz walked out the car, and stretched her hand towards me. On her index finger, was a plain silver ring. “No ways!” I exclaimed! “Yep!” Jazz took Katy’s hand and turned, “We are engaged!” They both shouted, jumping up in excitement! “When is the wedding?” I asked “Soon. We haven’t decided the venue or anything in fact. But at least our families are on board.

“That’s awesome! When did it all happen?” I asked excitedly! “It’s a long story, involving four hikers, a dangerous cliff and one angry bear” Jazz laughed. They got in the car. “Oh and Rick! I almost forgot!” Jazz reached to the back of the car, and took out a large box. “Here. From us” I took the rather large and heavy box. “Open it! Gently!” Katy whispered excitedly. I carefully slid off the lid. Inside, snuggled in blankets, sleeping peacefully, was a tiny kitten. I almost dropped the box. “Oh my god! Who is this!” I couldn’t believe my eyes. “Well, her name is Asha. Our neighbour’s cat just had a litter, and I asked if I could have one” I stretched a finger towards Asha, touching her soft, pink nose. She opened her eyes a tiny fraction, and mewed. “I’m melting, my god!” I couldn’t stop myself. Katy laughed. “Hop in Rick. We’ll drop you by!”

Half an hour later, I was standing in my apartment holding Asha in my arms. Hope. That’s what her name meant. Hope. A week ago, I was living a comfortable lie that my episode with Sasha never happened. Now, I had a kitten in my arms, friends by my side, and hope. I placed Asha on a fruit basket my mother bought for me many years ago, and placed it on my study table. Gently, I nudged her. She slowly opened her eyes, yawning, and stretched her paws, promptly falling back to sleep. I chuckled. She is going to be perfect. Purr-fect. After staring at her little form sleep peacefully, like a little angel, her pink nose, her soft whiskers, her tiny paws, finally, I went to bed. Yes, I lost Sasha. But now, I could see what I have gained. And as long as I had Asha, nothing would be too much to deal with. I have her. I have my friends. What can go wrong?

2 thoughts on “Rick and Sasha

Leave a comment