Sakura (3)

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

I turned my head to see a tall well built man with long hair, strewn over eyes, almost covering his eyes. He was dressed causally in a blue  Tshirt and jeans. He opened the door with such force, I almost fell off the chair in surprise. The man grabbed the chair and turned it around. “Speak while you still can. Who are you?” “Uhh uhh Kaneki!”

Mikasa

I woke up to a low humming. For a moment I let myself hope that I was back home, with the familiar hum of Mom’s washing machine. I sighed. I have to stop telling myself lies. I opened my eyes. The drab lights of my hospital room came into focus. When will this nightmare end? It all started when I was 13. What a way to start my teenage years. I’ve been in and out of hospitals more than my peers going to karaoke, restaurants, bars, or cafes. God, I’m such a burden. Sometimes I feel like walking in front of traffic just to end it. At least mum wouldn’t have to worry so much. My brother, Eddie, never stayed in the house. He took care of our expenses, but god, at what cost?  Worse of all, Eddie refused to talk about his work or what he did.

A knock woke me. I hastily arranged the bedsheets. “Come in!” I said. The door opened and I almost gasped. Standing there with a bouquet, wearing his uniform, was Kaneki! Why was he here! With a bouquet! “Why do you have to get flowers? They die so quick!” I snapped at him. I couldn’t help it. “I can throw them away if you want?” He said, turning to look for the dustbin. “No stop! Okay.  “No stop! Okay. There’s a vase there.” I said, pointing,

He pulled up a chair to sit beside me. We started talking but it still felt unreal.  I never expected him to actually come. He stared talking but all I could think of was WHY ARE YOU HERE! Was he really here? Was I hallucinating? “Well say your grandma died or something” he said.  I smacked him. “Ow!” He yelled. “What was that for?” I smacked him again. “I’m not gonna say my grandma died. Again.” I looked away. “Oh” he chuckled.  “No follow up questions!” I snapped at him. “Fine fine. How are you feeling?” Oh, I guess he was just worried about me. People, even loners, do that right? It’s normal. “Oh splendid! I have tubes running inside of me and my body is pumping more drugs than an arts college freshman. How you think I am?”

“Still sassy” he replied with a cheeky smile. I smacked him again, giggling. Damn. He made me giggle. What’s wrong with me! “Nothing, I just like beating you up” “What if I hit you back?” I gave him my best version of puppy eyes. “How can you hit me?” I cooed in a fake high pitch voice. Okay this was getting out of hand. I needed to stop. “Anyways, I’m feeling tired. I’m gonna sleep.” I turned away from him “You can stay, just don’t be a creep and keep staring at me.” I winked at him, before closing my eyes. “AH shit, there goes my plan” I heard him say. I suppressed a laugh. I heard him take out his sketchpad. Was he sketching me? Shit!

Just then I heard the door open. Then I heard Eddie’s angry voice. “ What the hell are you doing here?”

I got up my bed in an instant.  Eddie got Kaneki’s chair turned around and was almost in his face.  “Speak while you still can. Who are you?” I could see Kaneki’s face trembling. “Uhh uhh Kaneki!” “Eddie!” I screamed. “What the hell do you think you’re doing?” Eddie turned to me. “Let him go! HE’s my friend!” Eddie laughed. “Since when did my spoiled sister started making friends?” “Since my ass of a brother never bothered spending time at home.” He turned back to Kaneki. “So you’re her friend?” Kaneki nodded. Eddie kept scanning him. Then he laughed. “My bad bud! Allow me to apologize. I’m Eddie, Mikasa’s brother.” He raised his hand to shake his hand. Kaneki shook it. “Uh nice to meet you too. I’m Kaneki.” Eddie was smiling but his eyes never blinked. I sensed something was up. Kaneki was looking back at him. They kept shaking hands. Oh. I realised. They were squeezing each other’s  hands, trying to gauge each other.  Finally, Eddie relaxed, patting Kaneki’s head. “You got a nice grip there young man!” He chuckled. Kaneki laughed nervously. “Thank you Sir.” “Woah! Call me Eddie. I’m only 5 years older than you guys. “ He got up. “Leaving already?” I said. “Not quite. Someone’s gotta be adult here, you know. Talk to the doctors, pay the bills and shit.” He turned back at the door. “ I’ll be back.” “Don’t!”

“So you have a brother?” Kaneki asked. I laughed nervously. “Yeah, did he scare you?” I asked. He nodded. “But I understand. I’d freak out too if I was in his place.” “I’m sorry. He can be a little too extreme.” “He’s got a job, you say?” “Umm he never told me. Just started work one day and said not to ask questions. But the bills get paid, so I never did.” “Well, what about your parents?” I looked down. It was difficult to talk about. I never told so much about my life to someone. But I figured he should know. “Never knew my dad. Mum remarried soon after dad left. She lives somewhere in the city. I think Eddie talks to her, but I never do. Don’t want to.” I finished. Kaneki didn’t say anything. We stayed silent like that. Every moment felt thick. I didn’t knew what to say. The monitors hummed and beeped. Finally Kaneki stood up. “Mikasa, I, I just want you to know , that-” Just then Eddie walked in. “Hey Kaneki! Yo catch!” He tossed a soft drink towards him. Kaneki caught it. “A token of my apology. Sorry for that.” Eddie was trying his best to charm him. Kaneki laughed nervously. “Thank you. Well I’ll better get going now.” He turned to me. “Come back soon Mikasa.” He smiled.

“You didn’t have to scare him away like that you know, now he probably thinks I’m weird.” Eddie sat down where Kaneki left. “Uh huh. Listen, you’re young and naive, you don’t know what guys are like at your age.” “I’m 17, lay off me. Besides, age doesn’t matter. I’ve seen you staring at girls too. SO shut up.” Eddie’s face  went red. “ I don’t stare! I just –” “See, observe, notice, yeah I know. Don’t worry. I got your secret. I’m you little sister after all.” I faked my sweetest smile at him. He pushed my face away. “You know, we really need a new kidney for you.” He said quietly. “Sometimes I almost forget you’re sick. You never let it stop you from having fun. You even got a boyfriend!” “He’s not my boyfriend” I said quietly. “I told him I am never getting in a relationship, and he agrees. Besides, he’s good company. A bit of a loner. But he’s never gonna be my boyfriend.” Eddie chuckled. “Sure whatever. Anyways, the doctor said you can come home tomorrow. I’ll pick  you up.” He said, getting up.

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

[ i know this one is a bit short. plus i didn’t give any cliffhanger. Just a normal story. the next chapter will be longer. i promise]

One thought on “Sakura (3)

  1. One of the biggest reason behind admiring ur story is the twists…. Intentionally I spent two days for this cause it wasn’t long much n also adding that I could enjoy the story slowly with the butterflies in my stomach…. Anyways waiting for the next story…. Hope it will come soon…. Do write more cause we readers do wait for ur Stories….

    Like

Leave a comment