House Of Cards

The cup of tea that stood between us was almost cold. “What do you mean you aren’t going home?” I asked incredulously. She stirred her cup slowly. “Problems with my family. You know how it is.” She slammed her fist, looked up. “I’m not going!!” She looked determined. “Look, Aurelia, you have to go. It isn’t safe for you-” “And is it safe for you?” She interrupted me. I admit, while she did have a point, but still. “Look, the Universitiy is under lockdown, and it will be. The virus will wreak havoc, crippling everything. And I dont want you to be here when all hell breaks lose.” “And you’ll be safe?” She laughed dryly. “A 25 year old addict with no experience in life.” “I know you don’t mean that. I told you, I’m going to lay low at my uncle’s house.” She stayed quiet. “Look, your home is a long way from here, I know. But the distance will help keep you safe from the virus.” “I know that. It’s just, I don’t feel like going home, you know. I know what’s going to happen. Home doesn’t feel, like home anymore.” She signed. I placed my hand on hers. “Look, Aurelia, I know you feel mad and you’re avoiding going home, but trust me, avoiding is the worst thing you can do. Sometimes you just gotta peel off the scab. Just go and get it, no matter how much its painful or awkward.” She stayed silent. “I’ll miss you.” She said quietly. “You know what going back means. No communication with you. Or anyone else. for that matter.” “I know. I guess we’ll have to see what happens.

That’s the last time I saw her. Before the pandemic. Until now. The virus was finally gone. And everyone returned. I was at the cafe with a bouquet of flowers in my hands. 6 months I’ve been without any contact with her. I planned a quiet evening out that day. We did talk, but rarely. She had told me how much she missed me and how much she wished the lockdown would get over soon. So we’d be back together. As I sat I’m the cafe waiting for her, I couldn’t help but smile. Maybe not seeing each other was a good thing. It gave us a chance to be sure in this relationship. “Hi!” She smiled as she saw me. She looked as if she aged a hundred years. “Hey! How are you?” “Okay I guess. Gods it’s been so long.” She hugged me and whispered, “I missed you. “

“So how was home life? ” I asked. We were having dinner together. She shrugged. “Same old. Annoying but cute brother. Ever loving and supportive mom. Forever angry dad. ” She laughed. “I’m pretty sure dad threatened to marry me off at least thrice daily. ” I raised my eye brow. “Oh don’t worry Ark. I’m gonna be a doctor. Ain’t no one is gonna make my decisions for me. ” I laughed. “That’s good. Hey I learned to play the piano! ” She looked up surprised. “Really? You’re joking! ” “No, we had this old piano lying in the attic. I dusted it off a bit, cleaned it, and it played perfect.” “Well that’s amazing. I think the music club’s got a piano. ” She paused, smiling. We both knew what she was thinking. “No! It’s almost 9. We can’t!” “But we can sneak in! ” “NO! Don’t be impulsive” She fake pouted. I sighed. “Okay fine, tomorrow morning?” She nodded. “That’ll do. Hey hold on I have to go to the washroom. I’ll be right back” She got up. I watched her go. It was so good to be back, to sit so close to her, to have things go back to normal. I sat there, enjoying the soft mutter of people talking, soft jazz playing on cheap speaker, smell of food from the kitchen. Lockdown made me realise how much little things I took for granted are worth. I would never have appreciated the sound of traffic but now, sitting outside, the noises of the city was turning into an orchestra, and I, the conductor.

Just then her phone rang. I glanced at it. Unknown number. The ringtone was quite loud so I turned it down. The ringing stopped. Then texts started pinging. One after another. I took her phone to put it to silent mode when I happened to glance at her screen. It was the same unknown number. Curious, I checked the message. It kept pinging. / Hey did you reach hostel? / I’ll call later, okay? / how’s everything there? Alright? / okay I guess you’re tired or whatever/ I’ve been thinking of you, Aurelia. Call me, ily/

My mind froze. I couldn’t think. I could feel blood rushing to my brain. My fingers went numb, limp. I dropped the phone. Aurelia came running. “What happened? Are you MAD?” I heard her screaming. Wordlessly, I reached for her phone, picking it up, and showed her the screen. She stopped. Her lips parted, as if to speak, but I heard nothing. Just a ringing in my ears. I saw her lips moving, hands making flurried movements. My vision was getting blurry. I had to get out of here. I left her there, standing.

I had this in my drafts since the beginning of the lockdown, never got around to finishing it. Originally it was supposed to be very different. Then lockdown changed everything, including this story too. I’m guessing a sequel is due. I’m thinking of naming it ” gust of wind” (see what I did there?) and the last one titled “Gone with the wind”



UPDATE: PART 2- GUST OF WIND IS OUT… Do check It out

UPDATE: PART 3 OUT NOW

2 thoughts on “House Of Cards

  1. Pingback: Gust Of Wind

Leave a comment